Softball Is Boring (Part 1)

Posted: April 14, 2008 in General

Softball is an interesting game.  Usually, I end up making anywhere from 3-6 catches per game in the outfield.  This was not the case yesterday.  I played in two games and did not make a catch until the final out of the second game (a total of 11 innings and 33 outs).

On the other hand, catchers rarely make any catches for outs during a softball game (an occasional short foul ball might come their way).  This was not the case yesteday.  I played catcher for one inning (a total of 4 pitches) and ended up catching a foul ball.

Many consider softball to be a boring “past time”.  My situation yesterday gives their argument some weight.

Why is does this matter?  In the grand scheme of things it really doesn’t matter but it did bring a question to mind.  Why do I enjoy playing softball so much when I can play 11 innings and only touch the ball two times?  I’m sure there is a logical answer to this question, but that probably won’t be my answer.

More to come next time…

Leave a comment